top of page
  • Writer's pictureJosh Chavan

WTB? Prototype Sprint 4

For this sprint, I focused on creating the maps for each of the four boss fights, the map for the tutorial level, the dialogue UI system for the tutorial, and the Health and Collection UI.


To begin, I started creating simple models to use for each post-level boss fight. They are each themed after the ending location of the level, so the first is a bread factory, the second is an arctic research base, the third a cheese tavern, and the fourth the inside of the Meatcano. For the first map, I used reference of a real world industrial conveyor belt, and placed them intertwining through the map with loaves of bread going across them. I tried to make the architecture of the level fit the exterior of the building, being boxy and very grey, but with a pop of color from the belts.



For the second map, I used the same process as the first in terms of matching the interior architecture to the exterior. I used a real British arctic base as reference, which is where I got the general shape and colors. I made the room angular with red walls and some basic amenities strewn throughout. I made sure to have beds and desks/tables, as well as terrariums to help immerse the player into the environment and make it known what the environment is supposed to portray.



For the third level, the ending location is the entrance to a tavern used by the miners of the Swissconsin cheese mines to unwind and drink fresh cheese. I made the interior of the room a bit more circular, with a large bar counter and shelves behind it for storing bottles, as well as some tables and seats for patrons. I made the colors largely brown like a classic tavern, and also to fit the cavernous surroundings outside of the tavern.



Lastly, for the fourth boss room I built it to be the inside of the Meatcano that's the ending location for level 4. The player will climb in through the top of the Meatcano, and will land on a platform toward the top. They will then have to jump down to the bottom platform of the Meatcano and avoid falling into the lava in order to fight the boss and collect the final ingredient. I made this map a bit bigger since it's the final boss fight in the game, so it felt fitting. This one doesn't have a ton of unique decorations, as most of it is simple rock surroundings, though I did add some crates and meat products around the top platform.



Alongside these boss levels, I also created a tutorial level to introduce the player to the mechanics of game so that they understand every aspect and are able to play the game without any intervention from the development team. It includes the introduction of basic jumping, sprinting, sprint-jumping, diving, swinging across vines/ropes, movement altering materials, and lastly how to fight basic enemies.



For this tutorial level, I also created images to implement text that shows up on screen for the player to better understand what they are supposed to be doing as they move through the level. I used canvas images in tandem with invisible colliders to have the text appear only at certain points within the level, and only if the colliders are active so that one section of text cannot be accidentally retriggered. I did my best to make it look polished while remaining very simple and easy to make.



Lastly, I created some simple images to implement a visual representation of the players health and how many of the four key items they have collected. I made a seperate image for each stage of health depletion and each collected item. Similarly to the text images, I tried to make it look polished but simple.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page